• Resize textA -AA +
  • Dark Mode Icon

Seminar/ Colloquium

Home  »  Colloquium   »   Quantum Spin Liquids

Quantum Spin Liquids

Date: 20th March, 2024(Wednesday)
Time & Venue: 5:30 PM, UG Block Auditorium, Permanent Campus 
Speaker: Prof. G. Baskaran from IIT Madras, Institute of Mathematical Sciences and Perimeter Institute
Title: Quantum Spin Liquids

Abstract: Quantum spin liquids are strongly entangled many body states of interacting mangnetic moments in Mott insulators. They can also be viewed as quantum melted version of an antiferromanet, arising from geometric frustration and lower dimensionalities. I will review the status of this field, which had its genesis in a phenomenology driven theoretical proposal by PW Anderson in 1973. The discovery of HTSC in cuprates by Bednorz and Muller in 1986 gave a resurgence to this field, which continues to grow on theoretical and experimental fronts. Spin liquids have opened a window to rich quantum world in the vast Hilbert space, quantum computing etc.

About the speaker: Prof. G Baskaran is an Emeritus Professor at the Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, India, where he recently founded the Quantum Science Centre. He has made important contributions to the field of strongly correlated quantum matter. His primary research focus is on novel emergent quantum phenomena in matter, including biological ones. He is well known for his contributions to the theory of high-temperature superconductivity and for discovering emergent gauge fields in strongly correlated electron systems. He predicted p-wave superconductivity in Sr2RuO4, a system believed to support Majorana fermion mode, which is a popular qubit for topological quantum computation. In recent work, he predicted room temperature superconductivity in optimally doped graphene. From 1976 to 2006, Dr. Baskaran contributed substantially to the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste, Italy. 
He is a past recipient of the S. S. Bhatnagar Award from the Indian Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (1990), the Alfred Kasler ICTP Prize (1983), Fellowships of the Indian Academy of Sciences (1988), the Indian National Science Academy (1991), the Third World Academy of Sciences (2008), and the Distinguished Alumni Award of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (2008).