Dr. Ekambaram Balaraman


Associate Professor

Department of Chemistry,

Email: eb.raman@iisertirupati.ac.in
Phone: +91 877-2500-432
Group Webpage

Research Interests:

Organometallics & Sustainable Catalysis

Research Area

Our research primarily focuses on generating resources for green energy and recycling atmospheric waste. Specifically, our research group work on the design and development of catalytic materials for hydrogen generation from feedstock chemicals, sustainable chemical synthesis, and conversion of CO2 to value-added chemicals. We are also interested in the development of new electron-donors for Ziegler-Natta olefin polymerization catalysis.

Academic Education
  • B. Sc. (1997-2000): University of Madras, Chennai, India.
  • M.Sc. (2000-2002): University of Madras, Chennai, India.
  • Ph.D. (2002-2008): University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad, India.
  • Dec’2018 to Present
    Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry,
    Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) Tirupati, India.
  • July’2013 to Dec’2018
    Senior Scientist, Catalysis & Inorganic Chemistry Division,
    CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory (CSIR-NCL), Pune, India.
  • Jan’2012 to July’2013
    Assistant Professor, SRM University, Chennai, India.
  • May’2008 to Jan’2012
    Fienberg Graduate School (FGS) Post-Doctoral Fellow, Department of Organic Chemistry,
    Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel.
Honours and Awards:
  • Recipient of SwarnaJayanti Fellowship from the Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India - 2020
  • Recipient of Bronze Medal from the Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) - 2020
  • Thieme Journal Award - 2020
  • Recipient of the Asian and Oceanian Photochemistry Association (APA) for Young Scientist - 2019
  • Recipient of AV Rama Rao (AVRA) Young Scientist Award - 2018
  • Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC)
  • Member of the Indian National Young Academy of Science (INYAS), INSA (2018-2022)
Selected publications :
  • Manoj K. Sahoo, K. Saravanakumar, G. Jaiswal, E. Balaraman*, Photocatalysis enabling acceptorless dehydrogenation of diaryl hydrazines at room temperature, ACS Catal., 8, 7727 - 7733 (2018).
  • S. P. Midya, V. G. Landge, M. K. Sahoo, J. Rana, E. Balaraman*, Cobalt-catalyzed acceptorless dehydrogenative coupling of aminoalcohols with alcohols: direct access to pyrrole, pyridine and pyrazine derivatives, Chem. Commun., 54, 90 - 93 (2018).
  • A. Mondal, M. Subaramanian, A. Nandakumar, E. Balaraman*, Manganese-catalyzed direct conversion of ester to amide with liberation of H2, Org. Lett., 20, 3381 - 3384 (2018).
  • Jaiswal, V. Landge, D. Jagadeesan*, E. Balaraman*, Iron-based nanocatalyst for the acceptorless dehydrogenation reactions, Nature Commun., 8, 2147 - 2160 (2017).
  • S. P. Midya, M. K. Sahoo, V. G. Landge, P. R. Rajamohanan, E. Balaraman*, Reversed reactivity of anilines with alkynes in the rhodium-catalysed C-H activation/carbonylation tandem, Nature Commun., 6, 8591 - 8601 (2015).
  • E. Balaraman, E. Khaskin, G. Leitus, D. Milstein*, Catalytic transformation of alcohols to carboxylic acid salts and H2 using water as the oxygen atom source, Nature. Chem., 5, 122 - 125 (2013).
  • E. Balaraman, C. Gunanathan, J. Zhang, L. J. W. Shimon, D. Milstein*, Efficient hydrogenation of organic carbonates, carbamates, and formates indicates alternative routes to methanol based on CO2 and CO, Nature. Chem., 3, 609 - 614 (2011).
Selected Patents:
  • Quinolines and process for the preparation thereof. E. Balaraman* and V. G. Landge. (127/DEL/2015 (IN); WO2016113759 (A1); US2018009759 (A1); EP3245191 (A1)).
  • Phenanthroline based pincer complexes useful as catalysts for the preparation of methanol from carbondioxide. E. Balaraman*, V. G. Landge, S. P. Midya, M. K. Sahoo and G. Jaiswal. (358/DEL/2015 (IN) and 417/DEL/2015 (IN); WO2016128997 (A1); US2018021766 (A1); EP3256250 (A1)).
  • Catalytic hydrogenation process for the synthesis of terminal diols from terminal dialkyl aliphatic esters. E. Balaraman* and M. K. Sahoo. (131/DEL/2015 (IN); WO2016113758 (A1); US2017349514 (A1)).
  • Novel quinoline derivatives and preparation thereof. E. Balaraman*, S. P. Midya and G. Jaiswal. (304/DEL/2015 (IN); WO2016125187 (A1); WO2016125187 (A4)).
  • Magnetically separable iron-based heterogeneous catalysts for dehydrogenation of alcohols and amines. E. Balaraman*, D. Jagadeesan, G. Jaiswal and S. P. Borikar. (1494/DEL/2015 (IN) and 3688/DEL/2015 (IN); WO 2016189553 (A1)).
  • CHM-414: Transition Metal Chemistry
  • CHM-441: Inorganic Spectroscopy
  • CHM-323: Organometallics
Open positions:

Go back to the Faculty directory

Copyright © 2024 IISER Tirupati. All Rights Reserved.
  Last Modified : 10 October 2022 UTC 12:03pm