Biography of Arumugam Manthiram



Arumugam Manthiram is currently the George T. and Gladys H. Abell Endowed Chair of Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin (UT-Austin). He was the Director of the Texas Materials Institute and the Materials Science and Engineering Program at UT-Austin for 11 years during 2011 – 2022. He obtained his Ph.D. degree in chemistry in 1980 from IIT Madras. After working as a lecturer in chemistry at the Madurai Kamaraj University for 4 years and as a postdoctoral fellow both at the University of Oxford and at UT-Austin, he became a faculty member at UT-Austin in 1991.

Dr. Manthiram's research is focused on the development of sustainable battery chemistries and materials. He has provided training and mentoring to ~ 300 students and postdoctoral fellows, including the graduation of 72 Ph.D. and 29 M.S. students. 60 of his students and postdoctoral fellows are faculty members around the world. He has been ranked as the 4th most-prominent researcher in materials science and engineering and 109th across all fields in the world by ScholarGPS (https://scholargps.com/highly-ranked-scholars), which excludes self-citations and weighs each publication and citation by the number of authors.

Dr. Manthiram has received several awards: He is an elected Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, Materials Research Society, Electrochemical Society, American Ceramic Society, Royal Society of Chemistry, American Association for the Advancement of Science, and World Academy of Materials and Manufacturing Engineering. He is an elected Academician of the World Academy of Ceramics. He received the Battery Division Research Award in 2014, Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching in 2020, Battery Division Technology Award in 2021, and the Inaugural John B. Goodenough Award in 2023, all from the Electrochemical Society. He received the university-wide (one per year) Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award in 2012, Distinguished Alumnus Award of IIT Madras in 2015, Billy and Claude R. Hocott Distinguished Centennial Engineering Research Award in 2016, and International Battery Association Research Award in 2020. He delivered the 2019 Chemistry Nobel Prize Lecture in Stockholm on behalf of Professor John Goodenough.